Shadows in time

By cairistiona

Keeping moving

My dog is old, yet she is driven to keep moving. 

In 2017 when I began full-time work, I let my (soon to be ex-)husband take Leia because he and his new partner both work mainly from home, and Leia had been unhappy in the house alone while I was at work. 

This year, in June, after four years away, Leia came back to me on loan. I immediately noticed the change in her energy. She is still resplendent with love and life but at the age of 12 with 2 knee ops behind her, she has a calmer, more mature energy. Instead of hurtling at full pelt towards other dogs, towards other people, into the river, into the distance, she now progresses through life with a quieter, less frantic kind of joy.  She loves all the same places she used to love, but she explores them differently, sniffing her way through hedgerows and long grass, and although other dogs get a quick polite sniff and tail wag from her, she's really not that interested. For Leia these days, it's all about the place, and keeping moving on the walk. 

Looking back though my recently rediscovered Blip entries from 2015, there is a definite theme. I found it hard to keep moving. I was struggling then, and didn't know why. Having now been diagnosed with inattentive ADHD I can see that a lot of my posts were about ADHD struggles. I was trying to make sense of why it was so difficult to get organised and do those routine tasks which are a basis for life. 

Leia has no such issues, despite her creaky bones and not being quite so agile as she once was. I love our morning walks before work  - she propels both of us along with her joy. Together, we keep on moving. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.