QUEEN OF THE NIGHT: EPIPHYLLUM

While watering my Orchids this morning, I caught sight of this 
flower & since learned it is from the PITAYA plant.  This is an exotic climbing cactus, the largest in the world, growing up to 20 feet (6.1m).

My neighbor's  cactus has grown 5 feet (1.2m) & has an elaborate trellis.
Because my neighbors are from Vietnam, I assumed this plant
is from their homeland; but it is actually native to Mexico & Central America.  However, it is grown all over the temperate world.  This
HYLOCEREUS cactus is also known as Honolulu Queen.  They are
low water use plants that  love full sun, which might make them a good choice for this hot, parched land.  They need lots of space, though.

These blooms appear early Summer, through Autumn & last only a day.
They are edible in salads & can be made into jams.  The DRAGON FRUIT appears shortly after the flowers drop & taste like Papaya or watermelon.
They seem to be red & resemble Prickly Pear Cactus fruit.  I have seen them in the grocery store, but have never tasted them.

Maybe my neighbor will share the fruit with me......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.