West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Shipwrecked

The afternoon was the best part of the day, the sun emerged blue sky made an appearance yet it was still oppressively cold.

I had seen this the other day when I Blipped the old coaster which you can see in the top right of the shot, two for the price of one today folks!!! It made me think of the Genesis song "Shipwrecked" from the Calling All Stations album, made with Steve Wilson on vocals it was a short lived affair but I for one love the album and the song in particular.

Here we have an old clinker built boat, she is slowly rotting in the basin and in anther few winters will be gone forever, again to my mind a very sad sight. I liked the shapes and reflections the light gave and the perspective allowed shot up the river to the Erskine Bridge arcing over the river.

It was a musical day, looking at the bleakness of the bridge I thought of a girl who taught the twins to skate and who tragically took her life on the bridge last year, she has never been found and I never pass the bridge but think of her and her family. That brought me to listen to Brave by Marillion a concept album based on a true story about a girl found wandering on the Severn Bridge. It is a haunting and sometimes chilling piece of music that never fails to move me and more so now.

I am sorry for the morbidity of the entry but I hope you like the shot nonetheless

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.