Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Raven #77

I haven’t blipped a new bird for a while, and I hope I am correct in thinking that this is a Raven and not a carrion crow. Unless they are flying they are quite difficult to tell apart, but I know that we have seen ravens up at Burton Point before and they were pretty big birds. We did hear some cronking at one stage which is a sure sign of a Raven in the vicinity. Feel free to correct me if there are some distinguishing features I’ve missed. 
Our visit to RSPB Burton Mere was nice with the highlights being fly pasts from both green woodpecker and a peregrine Falcon. There weren’t too many other birds about apart from the regular ducks and geese, but once the sun came out there were plenty of butterflies around, and even the odd dragonfly. The one in extra I reckon is a Brown Hawker - a large brown hawker with golden wings. I don’t think I’ve photographed one of these before. 
We went on to Parkgate and had a late lunch at The Boathouse whilst watching a Marsh harrier and kestrel hunt over the marshes. A thoroughly lovely day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.