It's that time again

The first of the new season's bulbs are beginning to flower, the Autumn bulbs.   In August there are a predictable few who usually herald the coming array, this colchicum which came to me as seed, 'species ex Mt Parnassos'.   Six seeds sown in January 2008, I now have two flowering size and two much smaller ones.  Seems it is most likely Colchicum parnassicum which is known as a very early species.   A pretty little thing, flowering bone dry, triggered most likely by cooler nights since the heatwave a few weeks ago.  

Admin and phone calls mostly this morning.  More progress on the social housing front for Jamie and a minor breakthrough in the search for joint funding for Ruth.   My approaches to senior managers in the CCG yielded a phone chat with one.   They admit there is a need, there are other similar cases ... and that they don't have an answer at the moment.   This person did seem to take ownership of the issue and asked for some time to work on it.  I am to call them again in three weeks if I don't hear from them first.   We wait.

Work, food, laundry and potting up  assorted dwarf colchicum made for a varied afternoon.   See extra pic of my attempt to sort the stale smell in the washing machine.   A very hot wash with a little powder and no fabrics.  Well it worked .... and the kitchen floor is very clean now too!!  Good job I noticed when I did :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.