Rowanberry Jungle

Just a few meters from our garden is this area filled with rowan trees. They are one of the first trees to spring up when the mature forest is felled and they really took over this area. There are probably 4 or 5 trees per square meter, spindly things searching upwards for light.
I did some more garden work today, moving earth, sand, mulched tree, and stones to finish off another raised bed, and making a start on another one. In fact this photo is taken looking across a hole in the forest floor that I am filling with my garden refuse, in this case some lupin roots.
Once that job was completed I took the e-bike out for a quick ride. The ride turned into a forest bash as I did my usual trick of trying to connect two forest paths via a piece of pathless forest. It's amazing how long it can take to cover 500 metres of forest when you are wheeling/carrying a heavy bike! It was with a great sense of relief that I found the second track, I was beginning to think I'd miscalculated and would have to return the way I'd come!  I reckon more effort went into this 14km ride than into many much longer rides on ordinary roads.
But I'm not complaining, because isn't this what adventures are made of?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.