Rotherham United 1 Accrington Stanley 2

A backblip partly due to the English road system which seems to collapse after about 8pm if you want to travel any distance. I was travelling back from Rotherham and had to contend with the closure of the M56 between junctions 5 and 8 and then the A49. Trying to work out the location of these M56 junctions and work out an alternative while driving was an interesting mental exercise and I think I did a reasonable job but it still took me 30 minutes than it should have done.

Anyway I had another geocaching day with Paul, starting at Rainow, up to Kerridge down to the Macclesfield canal through Bollington and finishing near Pott Shrigley (we used 2 cars). It was another lovely day and the views were again fabulous on a 9 mile walk

As I was halfway there I decided to combine this with a bit of groundhopping and went to one of the newer EFL grounds at Rotherham. I had previously been to their old grounds at Millmoor and the Don Valley Stadium but this was a first. I'm not a big fan of new stadiums but this wasn't too bad and it proved to be an entertaining Carabao Cup game with Accrington deservedly winning 2-1 thanks to a late goal. Thankfully this  saved me having to sit through penalties. The main picture is the ground from one of the approach roads.

Before the game I had a bit of time to spare so had a wander in Rotherham and went to see the old Millmoor ground which is still in one piece with the pitch looking in reasonable condition from a distance. This is my extra and one for the football aficionados.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 183  -  Midlothian/Fife  11.5 miles  walked. 743.5 miles completed


I covered a long distance today crossing the Forth Road Bridge, through Inverkeithing, Crossgates and Hill of Beath and finished in Cowdenbeath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.