Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Brimstone

I don’t see Brimstone butterflies very often, and even more rarely catch one at rest for a photo.  Indeed, the only previous time I’ve had a Brimstone photo to share in this journal was nine years ago.  So I felt myself fortunate, on arrival at the pond in Denso-Marston nature reserve, to realise that there was one was under my nose, and that it was more interested in the nectar of Purple Loosestrife than it was in me.  And then it was off, and in its departure revealed the butter coloured upperside of its wings (extra).

On any other day I would have been very happy with the Holly Blue picture I’d managed five minutes earlier (extra) - but with those I do at least share a few moments a year.

Later, some more football: a league fixture at Silsden saw visitors Thackley break their habit of throwing away two goal leads by easing to  a three- nil victory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.