Budget Day

Today is, apparently, the first day of spring. There was not a lot of evidence of spring springing into springiness; in fact the day was a grey shade of dismal this morning, only slightly improving later this afternoon.

Today was also Budget Day in the UK. This is the day when the Chancellor of the Exchequer stands up in parliament and talks unintelligibly non-stop for an hour or so, only an hour this year, whilst other members of the House cheer and heckle in equal parts - this is our democracy in action.

I thought I ought to pay it some attention whilst I was doing important things on my laptop, so I propped the tablet by the side and tuned into BBC News Live. I didn't hear anything very much to give me any cheer, but then I didn't expect to. Accelerating the £10000 personal allowance was good, as was knocking a penny off a pint of beer; that'll make a huge difference to my drinking pattern when I meet Roz on Saturday.

So here is my impression of today's event, surrounded by doom and gloom, enjoy!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.