To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

I Spy

This morning, something in a tree across the pond out back caught my eye. It looks like Big Blue is back for the season. Each year, a great blue heron takes up residence in our pond. While fairly common, these birds are still exciting to see and great fun to observe, and I keep a pair of binoculars in my kitchen, which has the best view of the pond. (My husband teasingly calls me Mrs. Kravitz, but really, I only use them to look at the wildlife. Really.)

Great blue herons usually stalk around the shallow water, hunting for fish and frogs; I've only ever seen one up in a tree once before. This was as close as I could get without sinking into pond muck. Someday I'll get a proper telephoto. Bet Gladys Kravitz would've loved one of those.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.