Best Regional Inflated Smile

This inflatable guy stands outside a local Turkish Mezze & Grill restaurant in Larkfield called Alim-Et. He has a fan in his base, so that he waves as you pass by. I see him each weekday on my way to pick up my brother from the train station in the evening and he makes me smile every time!
I went to the Morrisons just along the road from this guy mainly to get ingredients to make tonight's dinner - sweetcorn fritters with scrambled eggs and bacon - but also to hunt for square sausage as I'd heard a rumour they sometimes stock it.
Square, flat or Lorne sausage, as it is sometimes known, is a traditional Scottish 'delicacy' made from minced meat, rusk and a secret blend of herbs and spices (sorry that last bit might just relate to a three letter chicken based fast food!). I used to buy it from Iceland (the frozen food shop not the country!) where you could get them for about £1 for ten (high quality stuff this!) but I haven't been able to find it anywhere down here for years now. 
Therefore, I couldn't believe it when I turned a corner in Morrisons and there it was next to the sausages! I nearly kneeled down in worship on the spot but so as not to alarm my fellow customers I contented myself with an inner cheer instead!
On closer inspection It doesn't appear to from a traditional Scottish source (it's from Widnes and not Wishaw) but the proof of the pudding, or in this case the sausage, will be in the eating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.