Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Eastern Fence Lizard

I went out to the vegetable garden with the goal of collecting cucumbers before they grew to the size of footballs. I took my camera with me just in case something showed up. As I was walking by one of the tomato plants in its raised bed (made of a section of an old oil drum) inside its tomato cage, I caught sight of a lizard. I rarely see actual lizards - we only seem to have skinks. But this was, I knew, an Eastern Fence Lizard. Unfortunately it saw me as well, and it darted around to the side of the raised bed, under a bunch of tomato leaves. I was also hampered by the fact that the lens of the camera was totally fogged up from the humidity and temperature differential between the inside of our house and the outdoors. It is HOT and HUMID here. Awful. But anyway - I had to attempt to manually focus on the lizard and I ended up with one shot of its face and another of one of its feet. So I glommed them together and here we are! Not the greatest photo in the world, but it does at least document the existence of a lovely lizard in my garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.