Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Looking at things

I'm tired of autumn now - can we have summer back for a bit longer? Today didn't get warmer than 15ºC, and I put on a fleece top to go and sing in church in the afternoon. It felt strangely comforting - but it's too soon! 

I was barely out of bed this morning when I heard the clatter of the scaffolding being removed from what was essentially the other side of my bedroom wall - the chaps were keen to finish that job before the rain began. It held off, in fact, till after 11am; to be quite precise until the moment I stepped out to go and meet a friend for coffee in the Boathouse. We ended up taking her car, but even so were were pretty drookit by the time we'd dashed along the front from the car park. Good blether, though - despite the fact that we see one another so often because of church, there's always something/someone else requiring our attention. 

Worn out by talking, I fell asleep like an old lady (shoosh!) after lunch, and it was getting on in the afternoon by the time Himself and I got up to the church for a practice at a couple of things. I felt my voice fragile after so much talking - intimations of mortality? We'd gone back home when we were both seized, madly, by the need for a wee walk - even though we were both perfectly ready to sit down to dinner. We decided as time was so short that we'd just walk along the East Bay, but as the road was still closed off by Scottish Water we took a detour through The Glebe.

That's where the photos in the collage come from, apart from the top left, which was taken on the road down to Argyll Street. But The Glebe is fascinating, and somewhere we really never go, tucked in the area behind the supermarket. The top right photo shows the houses that back onto the Milton Burn, which has Morrison's on its other bank. One of the supermarket trolleys lies sadly on its side in the water, which is now heavily fortified against flooding. The remaining two photos show the railings of St Mun's Primary school; it struck me what a lovely environment the school is in, despite the rather dilapidated streets round about. The railings were presumably designed by the pupils - I've never really looked at the figures on them before.

And that was it. Another day. Right now, my family, having come off the ferry from Spain this morning, are still driving north. So yes, I'm fretting again. I'm wondering how long it'll take before my children find themselves feeling this way about their own weans ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.