Squeezed On

I set off to Oban earlyish as thought the traffic might be bad.  Glad I did, it was busy even then.  Got some shopping in Oban and then joined the standby queue for people without bookings or wanting to get on an earlier ferry - the only slot available to book a few weeks back had been the 18.20.  It was interesting watching cars towing caravans, motorhomes and campervans not being allowed to go in the standby queue and having to do 3 point turns to go and wait elsewhere for their booked slot.  This is the new Calmac policy (apparently to prioritise people who do not have alternative accommodation) and one that I am happy about.  Was so relieved when they squeezed me on at the back, as it meant that I got home about 2 and a half hours earlier than I thought I would.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.