Mica Cap

This clump of mushrooms certainly wasn’t there when I was doing my big garden tidy on Thursday and I didn’t even notice it yesterday but I certainly spotted it today when I drove the car into the drive. I suppose the growing conditions have been just right …… mild and moist.

To me they just look like some lovely new potatoes just waiting for some melted butter to run down the sides.

According to Google this mushroom grows in clusters on wood debris and stumps and it has certainly colonised my old weigela stump. I cut the tree right back in March 2020 just as the first lock down began.

The mushroom can be eaten but it must be cooked first to deactivate the enzymes that cause gastric distress. It won’t be a problem for me though because I don’t eat mushrooms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.