Grassy eyed

A day of farewells, interspersed with pre-trip faffing. In the morning a first (and last for a good while) trip to the very excellent Hot Numbers in Meldreth, for strawberry pancakes and coffee.

After some baggage headway, I headed to the botanical gardens as Elizabeth had gathered some of my good buddies there for strolling, loafing and raiding the café. A very pleasurable few hours were spent near the Grass Maze where toddlers could occupy themselves, and adults could converse. All these humans, as well as many others, have been great sources of support during this long visa limbo, and I’m grateful for their kindness.

Not ideal with only one full day of trip preparing to go was the discovery on exiting the botanical garden of two flat tyres. This has never happened to me before. I walked to Berry and Helen’s, was fed pasta and then ice cream with homemade crystallised ginger (delicious) and borrowed Berry’s bike so I wouldn’t be hampered tomorrow. During the shuffling around town, I snapped an atmospheric St John’s College.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.