Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

THAT HAT

Several weeks ago my wife brought a hat, she didn't need a hat but like most things in a woman's wardrobe there's a big difference between need & want! Now Mrs Dcred has spent a lifetime in sales, from prosthetics in Boots ( long time since they did those), through to training all the sales staff at British Shoe Corporation & then as sales manager for Smith & Nephew, pills, potions & toilet paper, my girls done it all, so as you can imagine when out shopping nothing is ever straight forward. The hat was half price in the sales & following what seemed an eternity in front of the mirror adjusting things this way & that she decided the hat was for her, at this point I moved away from the counter, I knew it would be tough! Without a thought of the damage she could cause to this sweet young Saturday Shopgirl she haggled her way to a further 80% discount ( last one in the shop, display item, dusty brim, birthday gift, dog died, balance of payments, you name it she used it) £5.00 of my hard worked for money was all it cost me in the end. It never ends my friend, I tell you it never ends, the hat has sat patiently on the shelf for the last six weeks, perhaps she was waiting for the weather to change or a new coat , a day at the races, somewhere to show off her stylish tiffer, no, it sat on the shelf because she decided she didn't like it! I'll never understand why logic & women make bad bedfellows once they hit the high street. Today I found a new home for this little orphan but couldn't resist trying it on, as you do, before handing it over so today is me in that hat, tried my best to edit out my double chins but difficult to do with a phone app so disguised it with a bit of messing around, to see more of the hat go to my blip folio where I used it as a prop last week when the grandchildren dropped in with their dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.