Magical Clouds

Just started a new painting of the desert. I started with a vertical photo and turned it into a horizontal composition. That really freed me up to be more abstract and playful. This is the photo I am working from. Or at least started from. Already I'm way into the territory of the painting itself and no longer in the photo. I like it when that happens, when the painting gets a life of its own and leaps away from the photo into something completely different. This one did that really fast. Makes me happy. Press "L" to see this painting large. I am still in the middle though I don't plan to make too many changes. I want to keep its freshness and motion. Forgot to mention that this is an oil painting 22 inches high by 28 inches wide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.