Skyroad

By Skyroad

Madonna Of The Swans

Beautiful weather continues, skies loaded with sun-wasted clouds. The wean had to be collected early; has a bit of a bug. I collected him then drove downtown to take the wife home (also early). Then I tried to get to Bray as quick as possible, since I had earlier arranged to meet my old Irish/Canadian, non-mobile-phone-owning friend, near the harbour in Bray. I was an hour late and expected him to have drifted off.

I had seen this woman (she had a little girl with her) feeding the swans. Something about her, the bright reds, the compactness of her stance... I shot a few frames then headed off along the harbour wall.

I was photographing along the east harbour pier (the bright moss, an elderly man sitting on a bench...) when I spied someone on the other side of the harbour. Couldn't make out the face, but the clothes (a collared shirt & rucksack) and the purposeful stride prompted me to holler "Ronan!" and wave. Sure enough, the figure waved back.

So we took a short stroll across the bridge, behind the industrial buildings and down a well-trodden but somehow forsaken path towards the shingled beach behind the crumbling old land-fill. Plenty of sea-smoothed masonry among the stones, and bits of car-carcasses heavily gilded with rust, inspiring some post-apocalyptic musings. Then home to make tea for mum and the wean (who was "fed up" and didn't want any). Temperature peaked a little while ago, but a cold sponge and Nurofen seems to have dome the trick.

Some other things I noticed, on the East pier and during our walk:
Mossy Harbour Wall
Creeper-Decorated Fence
Bray Hummingbird

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.