Back on the shelves

When we sold our apartment in January, the contents went into storage, waiting for us to have a house in which to put them. We had/have the good fortune to have the beach house to be in while (a) we were searching for a new home and (b) now that we have it, it needs some changes before we can fully move in.

S is acting as the project manager working with architect daughter J. She figured that Tuesday was a good day to take the Ariki contents from storage into Woodlands Park Road. We now have our bed in one of the upstairs bedrooms; which is destined to become S' writing room when the downstairs modifications are done and we have a bedroom on the ground floor opening out into the rear garden.

The other upstairs bedroom is already taking shape as a study for me. The desk I had in the apartment fits nicely, and we have a good internet connection (with fibre), which so far is working impeccably (after teething problems due to confusion over the modem - the installers not me).

I opened a few boxes during the last couple of days, and today opened the boxes labelled photos. Mr H and I had put together the two book shelves which had been in the wardrobes in the apartment, on one of which I had stored photo albums and negatives and slides.

Today, I opened the right boxes to find the photo albums and have put them onto one of the sets of shelves. Like at the Ariki apartment, my study is using what was a bedroom, and the shelves are in a built in wardrobe. Except that we took off the door and the wall. 

Unfortunately the chimney  from the fireplace on the ground floor goes through this erstwhile cupboard. The chimney is also erstwhile, as we had the builders take away the fireplace (a classic 1970s style, set out into the main sitting room, in a place where everyone stubbed their toes until it was removed. This part of the chimney cannot be taken away until the roof is dealt with, which could be some months away.

Next time I'm there I need to open more of the boxes to locate my slides. A project which has always been "sometime" in the future, seems more likely now, and that is to convert many of the slides from our trip through the USSR to England and our stay in England for completion of my training, into a digital slide show or shows.

This simple although time consuming task to produce the filled shelves seen in my blip, has made it all feel so much more real and positive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.