Respite

On This Day In History
1969: Woodstock festival opens in Bethel, New York

Quote Of The Day
"When they said, "Make love, not war," at Woodstock, they never imagined that one would become as dangerous as the other."
(Jay Leno)

Wind and rain in the morning decided me not to go and watch Terminator 2 at the cinema as I had planned to do. However, when the sun came out in the afternoon I just had to go out for a 22km run.

DO NOT READ THE FOLLOWING IF YOU ARE DELICATE REGARDING TOILET MATTERS.

Unfortunately, the barium which I thought I had flushed from my system on Tuesday suddenly decided to make it's presence known as I approached the half way point. Luckily, there is a public convenience there and I sat down just in time but then it took ages for any action because the stools were like huge rocks. They were agony to pass. Still, at least I didn't mess myself and I was able to complete the next eleven kilometers with no further problems. Still, two hours later I still feel like I have recently given birth. Very ouch indeed.

OK. IT'S SAFE TO READ NOW


While I appreciate that Woodstock was a significant social and cultural event, I really don't think I would have enjoyed it. I probably would have left after twenty minutes, appalled at the muck, drugs and debauchery. Either that or the hippies would have booted me out for being such a square. I'm not even very keen on most of the bands that played there. This performance would probably be the only one to impress me. (But look at the mess left by the Earth loving hippies. Not exactly eco-friendly.)

Now this Woodstock performance I would have paid five times the ticket price for!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.