Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Leaf cutter

To beat the system I had to use this as today's blip. Now to my real blip .A very busy Blip today, lots keeps jumping in and out of the grey room. Please look at the extra.
Elaine and her Book Club friends organised a cake fest supporting Breast Cancer Awareness, but this is local to Treliske Hospital Truro’s Mermaid Centre, where Cancer is met head on. Sandy is recovering from Breast Cancer and drove the others mercilessly. Eight wonderful ladies made £776 pounds in 2 hours of hectic tea and coffee making and selling piles of Victoria sponges, choccy brownies etc. More power to their brilliant selves, all the funds go to providing counsellors and much needed advice booklets.. 
Mornings can be a trial. For the past two days I have howled with laughter as I suddenly realised that after exiting the bathroom, full of glowing health, I have pulled on underwear (Mine), shirt, my left Ugg Boot then wandered to the kitchen. No jeans, no right ugg boot. Innocent as the day he was born. 
I made a note on my pad, Dogs, what does that mean?????
While based in Belfast I was requested to fly search dogs down to Armagh, famously known as Bandit Country. I would leave my base at the harbour airport, wander across town to the then Long Kesh or “Maze” prison and the dog and handler would dive in. All the dogs loved going aerial walkies, it meant fun and games in lovely countryside. The first day it was a Yellow Lab; at the end of the day he was carried into the cab by his handler, my heart sank, fearing the worst, but no, the handler told me he was asleep waiting for me, at home he would eat, sleep and go again tomorrow. 
The next one I collected was Hoooooog. A German Shepherd, he jumped on the rear seat, tongue hanging down to his chest and waited while his human strapped in. I was just about to heave us towards the sun when the dog released an arc of urine that travelled between my seat and the aircrewman straight onto the electronics of the radios. The dog had a contented smile and the three humans were unable to speak for ages as our chuckle muscles went into spasm. 
I loved my job. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.