Immaculate

He's gone :( We watched Dances with Wolves (epic), ate vast amounts of Poison Pie (pretty epic too) and were up rather early en route to Cork airport. Not a thing on the roads so all quiet. What an enjoyable visit, missing him already.
To console myself I had 3 wells on the agenda for the return journey none of which I expected to be there but I had to check as I am doing a talk on Cork City wells shortly.  The first was under a railway bridge and now an unofficial rubbish dump; the second had been consumed by undergrowth and the third, thrillingly, was still there in a tree! A large almost hollow ash had water literally dripping down the inside and gathering in the roots. 

You will of course be aware that today is the Feast of the Assumption when the BVM was assumed into Heaven. As I was in the area I visited two more including this little charmer - Tobar Rí an Domhnaigh, Sunday's Well, also patroned by the BVM - absolutely beautiful kept and the lilies smelt incredible. Almost home and I visited my local well, a Lady's Well,  also dedicated to Herself. It too was looking beautiful, bedecked with hydrangeas, and I met another pilgrim and we swopped stories. I reckon he was here the last time I visited on the 15th. He told me how his mother, when aged 85,  was still making the rounds up the steep gully - today I was accompanied by a cheeky spirit of the place who had no problem bounding up.
And the second extra is for jensphotos who, when she came to visit brought with her a BVM all the way from Australia - look she has pride of place! The koalas are still doing well too.
Officially wrecked now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.