dfb24

By dfb24

Wild Flowers

My sister and brother-in-law have about a half acre area along one side of their house that is full of wildflowers; yellow prairie coneflowers, purple coneflowers, Queen Anne's Lace, chicory, daisies, etc.   I was surprised that I didn't see a single monarch or dragonfly in among the flowers....only different types of bees. Besides Mae & I, their 6 children all came for the day, along with the 3 spouses of the married ones, & we had so much fun. A bit of pandemonium in the pool when one of the nephews jumped off the low dive, stayed underwater, & both dogs jumped in and swam to where he was, with Bruno actually going under the water toward him. My brother-in-law said the dogs are always watching, and if they think someone's in trouble they'll go in after them, which I have to say is pretty smart of the dogs. Mae and I, in spite of lathering on the sunscreen, got a little burnt from swimming but she was in a lot longer than I was. The kids were all laughing as Mae had her floaties on & she kept asking her Uncle Matt if he'd come "drive" her up and down the pool. And over he'd come and he'd pull her up and down the pool while she kicked. We ate both lunch and dinner there, and didn't leave until about 7. As we were driving home, Mae asked me if I remembered that the last time we were there to swim we stopped for ice cream on the way home. I said no, I didn't remember that. She gave me this shocked look, then told me she knew I was teasing her, because I MUST remember that we'd stopped for ice cream cones. Well, it doesn't take an Einstein to know what was coming......so of course we stopped for ice cream cones. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.