Green Bin Day

Busy couple of days, vacuuming and cleaning most of the carpets in the house. We have a 'Bissell' carpet cleaner, did have a 'VAX' but it went wrong outside the guarantee, don't they always!
It's really quite good, had a bit of trouble cleaning the wet 'fluff' out of one part of it. There are very narrow slits and it was nigh on impossible to flush the stuff out. I mentioned, to Marlane, that I needed something long, thin and flexible, to poke down the slots. She immediately suggested one of my long cable ties. Everyone needs a woman around to make such good suggestions, my only worry is that I didn't think of it!
Late this afternoon I thought about putting out the green bin (garden waste) but spotted the Pyracantha was getting very tall around my flagpole, and the Union Flag was getting caught on the thorns.
I got out my long pole with the lopper on the end and chopped them off, not the ones with berries on though, the blackbirds will be needing those.
I inherited the lopper from my father who, in turn, got it from one of his nephews who worked in the Bulmers Cider apple orchards. He reckoned it was a very old original tool and I would estimate it must be around 100 years old by now. Still works as good as it ever did and will cut through branches a couple of inches thick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.