Mini marrow

For the first time in 30+ years I have succeeded in growing a healthy size marrow.

A year or so after we moved in I had great success. A 23lb marrow. But since then they have either not taken or something has nibbled them

This year I have had four this size (up to 2.5 kg). But there is a bigger one I plan to harvest later in the week.

I spent much of the day in the garden in the sunshine. It felt slightly surreal while listening to the news bulletins about Kabul and the airport. Sadly we are all too familiar with news of poverty, hardship, disasters, famine but somehow this feels more acute. Perhaps because something could have been differently by us, the UK, to avoid the sudden shift in Afghanistan’s fortunes and the likely changes in the lives of millions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.