Doingok

By Doingok

Icon

This little statue is a bit of a nemesis.  It belonged to my mom who was considerably more religious than I.  She didn't go to church but the Catholic values were deeply instilled.  Mom had a few statues around her house in the later years and this one looks a little battered, but still she kept it. Notice the right hand.  She seemed to have an affinity for the Infant of Prague.  Found some interesting information at that website if you care to read a little history.  At one point in Mom's sewing career she made these elaborate satin and lace dresses for the statues, getting paid per dress.  When I cleaned out 50 years of accumulation at her house after she died, I didn't know what to do with the statues and I kept them for a time, then donated them, but this one was so "worn" that I just didn't know what to do with it.  I put it out for awhile thinking it was kind of iconic like those Dia de los Muertes statues but then it went into a cabinet. Well the cabinet is empty as I pack up all things and once again I am faced with what do I do with it.  I have a feeling it's coming to North Carolina.  

Thanks very much to Carolina for getting us to think about how we shoot and a few of the many techniques and for hosting MonoMonday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.