Taking its Toll

It's Wide Wednesday and the theme I've picked for this week is 'History' however you wish to interpret that. My choice today is the Old Toll House that stands on the Teignmouth side of Shaldon Bridge. It's been there since about 1827 and that's longer than the bridge because the original bridge didn't last very long. It collapsed in 1838 and was found to be riddled with shipworm. The new one was opened in 1840.

Time has taken its toll and it now seems to be undergoing an extensive (and no doubt expensive) refurb as it's Grade 2 listed. It probably looks quite peaceful in my main blip but if you look at the extra taken from along the bridge a bit, you can see that there's quite a lot going on.

I'm looking forward to going through your pictures and I'll be announcing my choices for Hearts and Honourable Mentions tomorrow evening UK time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.