La vida de Annie

By Annie

El tiempo vuela tan rápido.

Thinking of yesterday's anniversary, I concluded that time certainly flies - hardly an original observation, of course, yet every time it shocks me.
Having run out of (decent) things to watch on Netflix, we're re-watching Narcos for the possibly 3rd time, and I was reminded anew how charismatic is the theme tune, and how good the main character actor.
That led me to Google both things, the song having been written for the story by Rodrigo Amarante, a Brazilian, and the actor Wagner Moura who portrayed Pablo Escobar was also a Brazilian. As a Portugese-speaker, the actor had to actually learn Spanish for the role, as well as putting on 40 pounds and doing tons of research into the character. The final death scene was enacted on the same spot as Escobar's for example. I also discovered that among many talents he can sing, as demonstrated in this clip of him singing "Tuyo".

Soy el fuego que arde tu piel
Soy el agua que mata tu sed
El castillo, la torre yo soy
La espada que guarda el caudal
 
Tú el aire que respiro yo
Y la luz de la luna en el mar
La garganta que ansío mojar
Que temo ahogar de amor
¿Y cuales deseos me vas a dar?
 
Dices tú: «Mi tesoro basta con mirarlo
Tuyo será, y tuyo será.»


I am the fire that burns your skin
I am the water that kills your thirst
The castle, the tower I am
The sword that guards the treasure

You’re the air that I breathe
And the moon’s light on the sea
The throat I yearn to wet
That I fear to drown with love

And which desires will you give me?
You say: “My treasure you just need to admire and yours it will be, and yours it will be.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.