D77

By D77

Living the Dream

Last night saw what is now becoming a weekly trip to the Dream Resort for some pool and beer. My 100% track record as designated driver remained untouched yesterday; I don't particularly mind not drinking and it saves a degree of hassle getting back in a taxi (I don't like on campus like the rest of the guys).

One of the first things that really struck me when I came to live out here in 2006 was the drink-driving culture. At the time, many of the people in our social circle were pretty hardcore drinkers. There are just a few places to indulge in an alcoholic beverage in Muscat and you have to travel by vehicle to do so. Most people we knew back then wouldn't think twice about jumping in their cars at the end of the night and driving home pissed out their faces. There was only one incident I can remember where there was an accident: 24 hours in jail and the repair bill for both cars was the punishment. Thankfully, the truly awful people that used to dominate the scene out here have gone on to pastures new.

These days, more sensible people remain, like me and my buddies last night.

Besides, had I been drinking and taken a taxi home, I would have never been able to stop in the middle of the road at 1am, get my tripod out the boot and blip a nicely lit telephone.




-------
Happy Birthday dude!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.