Combi31

By Combi31

Special branch

It's been beautiful today - in fact it has been hot!

I went out this evening - don't you just love this time of year when the evenings get longer?

I saw lots of wildlife - including this little red squirrel who was fast asleep on a brach high up in the tree.
At first I thought somebody had thrown a tile up into the tree ... yeah, I know ...
I crept up to get a closer look then I had to clear my throat to wake him - he was well fine, with the warm sun on his back, really making the most of his des res.

I nearly stepped on a rabbit as I was stalking a woodpecker - which is tribute enough to my newly acquired Apache Indian tracking skills.

I saw the hen harrier again and the pair of kestrels, which were perched on a tree with two others - no I didn't dare blip it ... but there may be more later.
In fact, lesser kestrels hang around in groups, a bit like teenage boys without the daft fringe that gets in their eyes ... and kestrels can probably be understood a lot easier...

The name for a squirrel in French is écureiul - which leads me to my interesting rule about reading French ... prepare to nod off ...

When a word in French starts with 'é' it can be replaced in many cases by 'S' in English...

For example étable = Stable, étrange = Strange, some are almost there too ... école = Scole = School...

There a free French lesson too - that will be 120? please ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.