Anniversary walk

It would have been my 42nd wedding anniversary today - that makes me feel old!  I decided to go up to Joe’s beloved St Ives Estate and photograph the places he had lived and worked. Cuckoo’s Nest cottages where he was born and brought up with the estate as his playground; Baxter’s Pond behind those cottages which was cleared out and renovated around 2004 by his brother, so named after him; SportsTurf Research Institute where he started work at 15 when his dad wouldn’t let him go into farming; the golf course where he later worked until he retired (but still went back to help out with the garden around the club house - you can just see the borders he planted); the renovated cottages where he used to have his workshop; Home Farm where his uncle and dad worked and he helped out as a boy; the woodlands and of course Coppice Pond - a favourite place to visit.  The horse is just random - I met it wandering around alone as I walked up past the golf course and it was whinnying to the other horses still in the fields!  I guided it to the gate and waited with it whilst a man on a quad came up the hill as I didn’t want it going down to the road.  There were no gates open so no idea how it had escaped and I didn’t want to put it back in the wrong field!  The man returned it to the right field and it cantered off to join the others.  Beautiful creature. A lovely walk with good memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.