Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Florea

I haven’t been paying as much attention to hoverflies this year, but this one caught my eye among the brambles. I think it’s Myathropa florea, common enough nationally but quite thinly recorded in the north, so I’ll log this one on iRecord.

It was very breezy out but I did see a few butterlies along Moorside, including Wall, Peacock, Red Admiral and Speckled Wood. 

Later, I walked down the hill to watch Salts FC in a league fixture (effectively the twelfth tier of the English football pyramid) against Silsden Reserves. The Cobbydalers has the wind behind them during the first half, and put this to good effect racing to a four goal lead inside half an hour. He Alpacas held their ground more after the break and it finished 1-5. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.