PandaPics

By pandammonium

Salad, dressed

I don’t often dress salad. It’s not something I grew up with. We had salad cream, but I didn’t like it. I dressed this one on a whim.

The salad comprises gem lettuce, cucumber, cherry tomatoes, Greek olives and preserved lemon. I dressed it with hempseed oil, which I use instead of olive oil, the salty sharp liquid from the jar of preserved lemons, salt, white pepper and sumac (the specks).

It is to go with kofta-like kebabs and aioli in tortillas, which need using up and we have no pitta breads.

I made the kebabs from plant mince – this is the first time I’ve made anything like this from plant mince – and (brace yourself) dried mint, chilli powder, cumin seeds, coriander seeds, white pepper, garlic powder, celery salt, smoked paprika and ground cinnamon. I think that’s everything. I didn’t measure anything – just bunged it in and mixed it up. Then I squished it round some skewers and bunged it in the oven for just under twenty minutes.

I slid the kebabs off the skewers in the microwaved tortillas then dressed with aioli and shovelled on some salad. Delicious!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.