Plus ça change...

By SooB

Wobbly

This, on some bulbs I can't identify, is the first grasshopper/cricket I've seen this year. We've had little brown lizards dotting about on sunny days all winter (though they are much more evident now) and the frogs have been croaking in the trees for weeks, but this is the first tiny cricket (less than 1cm long). Not sure why he's so blurry - I'm going to blame the fact that my camera autofocus is a bit dodgy so I'm not using it at the moment, and I am still 4 stops short of perfect vision (until the new glasses and lenses arrive).

Teacher day today. This morning with the little ones we did please and thank you (though the song that I thought everyone learned at school turns out to be so rare that there isn't even a youtube video of it, despite youtube being the third biggest country in the world, or something). So, we did please and thank you with a penguin instead. It went down well and they seemed to all have learned the words. Then it was 'heads, shoulders, knees and toes' which brought much hilarity and more falling on the floor than I was expecting. And, at the end of it, some rather sore legs for me. In retrospect, probably I didn't need to join in all the time - with both classes - so vigorously. My thighs now ache terribly (not helped by the many sheets of flooring I hoisted up through the new hole in the stairway ceiling to Mr B, and the digging in the garden this afternoon) but all will be well at 5pm tomorrow afternoon when I will be floating out of a massage place (calm down you lot) after a thorough sports massage... (searching for 'massage near Paddington' brought some very interesting Google results, as you might imagine).

The rest of the day was spent teaching Mr B how to be me for the weekend. It is, granted, a slightly more complicated routine than normal with the addition of TallGirl's new school's 'Open Doors' session to the usual run of basketball matches, practices and lotto. I am sure it will make him more keen than ever to run off to London to earn some new trees, err, I mean money. Don't tell him I'm going to spend it all on trees when we just finished chopping down loads in our garden....

Yesterday is backblipped, and I also caught up on the lengthy saga of our return from the UK which started here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.