Pepysman

By Pepysman

Pride and...

It is a truth universally acknowledged that internet booksellers have had a very negative impact on bookshops. There is one group of bookshops for whom, I think, this may not be true, namely second hand bookshops providing out of print books, rare editions and remaindered stock.

Today the George Rude book arrived, taking me back to the days when I studied the Age of Revolutions at University. My first book obtained in this way was"Through Savage Europe" by Harry de Windt which I first read at school but then lost my copy till I saw it on the internet forty years later. Other books followed including "Some People" by Harold Nicolson, and "Sir Charles Dilke" by Roy Jenkins.

Am looking forward to delving back into the French Revolution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.