The Butterfly Who Tapped Me On the Shoulder

The monarch caterpillar who went into J formation on the morning of the 18th turned into a smooth, green chrysalis by the end of that day. The next day, while checking out things in the milkweed patch, I discovered yet another caterpillar entering the J formation. It's so exciting! Something new is happening every day.

As I was standing there, looking into the milkweed patch, I felt a gentle touch on my right shoulder. Tap tap! Tap tap! When I looked around, a brand new monarch butterfly was fluttering around me, and it sat for a second on my shoulder before it took off for the Norway spruce trees out front.

I ran inside for my camera, and when I came out, the butterfly was still there, so I took some photos. I don't know if monarchs have a thing for Norway spruce, or if it's just the happy accident of their being there that makes them useful. But that's where the newborn butterflies go. As the planter of those trees, I am happy to see them bedecked with butterflies!

I had a sense of happiness, and peace, and of an important message delivered. As a very little girl, I remember my Sunday school teacher asking each child to pick something to remind them of the everlasting love of God, and of course, I picked the most amazing creature I could think of: the butterfly!

So here is a message from this perfect, fresh, newborn butterfly:
Everything is all right.
Everything will be OK.
You are well loved.
Heaven smiles.
<3

I like this song for my soundtrack to go with this image of the very friendly butterfly who tapped me on the shoulder to remind me of all these things: Phil Collins, from the Tarzan soundtrack: You'll Be In My Heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.