Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Winter's Vengeance

I much preferred this scene two weeks ago, even with the rain we had then. Winter is back with a vengeance and frankly, I've little patience for it at the moment.

I currently stay quite busy with several part-time, freelance jobs but I would really like to trade them for a full time career. Today, I suffered another frustrating rejection. That brings the tally to seven official rejections, four non-responses after more than a month, one mutually agreed no-fit, one hire (part time), and four open applications. In case you lost count, that's 17 job applications.

This has been really hard for me to swallow and even more difficult to admit. In the US, I was essentially recruited from one company to another most of my life since I was in grad school. I've never had to painstakingly write cover letters that sell my skills and rework my resume to highlight my most relevant experiences. I've never experienced rejection! And I've never ever felt like I couldn't easily achieve anything I set my mind to. But now I'm up against the German System. A star-shaped peg that doesn't match the square boxes :)

Well, the lesson here is that I can't EASILY achieve anything I set my mind to.... But I will find a great position and return to a fulfilling career. I will find a challenging and fun job with a company I enjoy working for. I'm just going to have to attack the job search with a vengeance like the German winter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.