Not AWOL

.. but  a Wall and an Owl. I set off on a walk this afternoon to look for butterflies specifically Painted Ladies on a privet which has been left to flower and has attracted them in the past, and Wall  butterflies, which are not common in this area. I didn't see a single butterfly or bee as I walked up the lane. Nothing on the privet either. I crossed 4 fields which usually have a few butterflies - still nothing, then in the very last field before I was planning to turn round and return, I finally spotted a couple of Walls, one of which was obliging enough to settle for a photo. Amazingly, when I clicked on the "one year ago" button I found I had blipped a Wall on this day last year - but from a different location. 
A little Owl in extras, and a Dusky Thorn Moth from the trap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.