Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

5-a-side

For years in my youth I loved playing football. From rushing home from primary school, hurrying to finish my homework then out to play the best ball game in the world.
Mum would shout me in for tea... Then later when it was "time for bed".

Then thru my teenage years and into my twenties, football was always either being watched or played.

I ended up stopping as I thought age was getting the better of me but in my late 40's one of my friends invited me to a play 5-a-side match... For better or worse I decided to play... thinking that I would just "quietly" saunter thru the hour.

Not a chance... After about 30 seconds I was taken back to my youth... Organising the whole team and running about "like a daft laddie". It was fab... that was until the next day my legs reminded me that I wasn't youthful any more!!

Anyway 4 years later and at the age of 52, I'm still telling my legs to "shut up and keep on running!!"

I love it and all being well I'll keep on playing for years to come!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.