Says it all

Summer of 21. Evening dog walk with Luna!

Yesterday got a text message from someone in the parish who I actually met thanks to Twitter. He approached me out on a walk a year or so ago and asked if I was the one on Twitter who kept posting photos of the area with the dog! Turned out he is an Englishman and who together with his wife runs a weekly English Language get together over a beer in the next village for anybody who wants to practice speaking English. Simply a type of pub get together but different language! I have been meaning to go for years but it was always on Thursday nights when Angie's weekly sporting calendar meant I had home duty. Naurally with Corona, the meetings have been on ice but should be restarting soon,

Anyway, the subject of the text was whether I would be willing to witness his daughter's signature on a UK matter. I know the hell he goes through on such occasions, as I have tried it myself. No German can believe the concept. They all think they are being asked to sign away their lives and vouch for the accuracy of everything in the document.  Unless you can find someone to do it, you would need to get a solicitor who understood English and who legally would be forced to charge you a % of the value of whatever is in the document, I think around 5%, which allows him to have insurance cover should it backfire! That means if you are for instance the executor of a will and regardless of whether you are a beneficiary, he must charge you 5% of the value of the estate simply to witness your signature on the document!

Of course, I was only too pleased to, and so they came by after a shopping visit to Ottobeuren and a chance for me to meet his youngest of three children, a charming young lady. For my efforts, I didn't get 5% bu something of even greater value, a bag of Maltesers which they had found in an Ottobeuren supermarket. I guess it's more than 20 years since I've had a Malteser! (Extra photo proof!)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.