Eastern Tiger Swallowtail

Since I have done what I can do and can do no more, I intended to deal with Afghanistan by avoiding the news. I would give myself a C in terms of how well I did with that. The information I wasn't putting in here because it was too ghastly is now public and increasingly getting attention. Our allies are crossing into Taliban territory to save people, increasing the pressure of the US to take care of the people who for years have taken care of us. Will it make a difference? I'm seeing language shift from "US citizens" to US citizens and SIV holders and people who qualify for P visas, which, to me, indicates a recognition that the bureaucracy to get P visas is absurd. Maybe it is not too late, maybe it will make a difference. I don't see how, but maybe it will. 

Tomorrow I will see if I can meet my commitment to help move my nephew and drive to Roanoke, VA. This will probably involve sleeping in the car in the southern part of Shenandoah. I've never been in the southern part.  

Making vaccines is hard. Novavax is the newest one in the US but it doesn't have US approval yet. They are having manufacturing setbacks in the US, and this is one of the more conventionally produced vaccines. They simply don't have manufacturing experience. That said, they have agreement to supply over 1 billion doses around the world. They've hired some experienced executives to help them. The Atlantic had an article in late June saying their side effects were milder so I hope they manage to resolve the problems.  

Tonight I went to the yellow wildflowers for a shot and was lucky enough to see this Eastern Tiger Swallowtail hanging out for sooooo long that I could take enough pictures that at least a few of them were ok and two of them were nice. 

Hope you have a wonderful Saturday. Thank you to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.