Daylily

Even these large rather opulent flowers only bloom for a day. In fact, this particularly showy one didn't even reveal itself until after the fire killed all the heavy shrubbery around and above it. So named because each flower  only blooms for a day, a single plant can keep producing flowers for a whole season. I hovered around this one taking pictures from different angles and then wandered off to see what other flowers I could find. Most plants are looking a bit tired and haggard by late August, but I did find one ripe fig and quite a few more right behind it. When I came back to the daylily, the flower was lying on the ground, just as I have found many sunflowers, nipped off their stalks right at the base of the flower. We suspect ground squirrels but they are quite stealthy so we've never caught them in the act.

The door casements are all finished and look very nice...Spike has white paint all over one ear....He's gone from being afraid of David and Greg to loving them because they play with him. We may have to take him to the beach when they come back next week to touch up  paint the walls. 

The starting date for the bathrooms depends on how long it takes them to get the necessary a bathtub, two low flow wall hanging toilets, a bathtub and tile The supply chain clearly has not recovered. 

I had an appointment with my doctor today. She has been tinkering with my blood pressure medication and has deemed my blood pressure acceptable after reviewing a three month record I kept taking it at home. She did agree that coming in  all the time to see her, was probably more stressful than leaving everything as it is for awhile, so I'm off the hook for another six months.

The smoke has been bad all week but is supposed to start clearing over the weekend.  However the fires are getting closer so there's really no telling....sirens and smoke have everyone on high alert....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.