Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

WHOOP WHOOP

Quick trip to the lochside this morning to check on the birds. There was a bitter wind, so we didn't hang around for long. Pleased as I am to see the Whoopers, I hope they are gone by the time I'm back from the prairies as it would be a sign of spring on its way.

Most of the afternoon was spent on prairie prep:

Silk thermal underwear - check
big tub of E45* - check
ski mitts - check
snow boots - check
Cadbury Double Deckers for my son and heir - oops, I ate them
mystery large pear shaped object in its own case - check
CDs to keep me awake on the long drives - check
the Professor - no, sadly I have to leave him behind on this trip.

I am not at all superstitous, but there is a slight anxiety about going to Canada at Easter. When we were there in 2007, my beloved brother died; when we there in 2008, my lovely sister in law died. Much as I am looking forward to spending time with my lovely son and his two smashing kids, I will be relieved to be back.


*for the dry air and hard water

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.