Cep

It's that time of year when I go to the Estate on the lookout for mushrooms. After visiting the patch where I've found chanterelles before and collecting a few small ones, but then finding nothing exciting in the rest of that area, I continued walking Django. At the Low Pond I spotted a tiny cep, so I had a look in another area that's yielded ceps before. Very soon I came across this monster. There was a smaller, older one next to it, but that was all.

Back home, preparation reduced the original 403g mushroom to 220g of fragrant slices. Since A had been kayaking/swimming and was hungry, she was very pleased when I cooked them for lunch (see extra). It was delicious!

Hopefully the warm weather over the coming days will bring on the small chanterelles in "my patch", and maybe some more ceps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.