In the secret quarry

I had a lovely day yesterday.  There was a Jaguar car event at Whittington Castle and blipper Ingleman and Mrs. Ingleman went to it.  We met up and they came to my house for coffee which was most enjoyable.  It was great to meet them both and plan to meet up again in the future.  Blippers are always such lovely people!

Afterwards I went to a Shropshire Wildlife Trust guided walk on LLynclys Common.  There were a lot of people there and we had to be divided into two groups.  I've walked on the Common many times and I know that it's very easy to get lost but they've made a new waymarked trail which will hopefully be a help for visitors.

We went into an abandoned limestone quarry which is not normally open to the public (due to regular rockfalls)  and we entered through a gate that is kept locked after descending some very tricky and slippery steps.  The quarry is full of wild flowers, one of note is the autumn gentian which I'd never seen before.  Unfortunately my photos weren't good enough to blip.  I'd been in the quarry once before when I remember seeing lots of bee orchids.

The walk was beautiful with whole fields of devil's bit scabious  (extra photo) and lots of other flowers.  We saw plenty of butterflies including silver-washed fritillary.

On the way home I called at F's to cook a meal.  He's hurt his knee so it helps for him not to have to cook.  Home late again so another backblip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.