Wetlands Walk

Feeling at a bit of a loose end on a Sunday afternoon, I took myself off to the local wetlands, a relatively new SANG developed on the site of an old commerial mushroom farm on the edge of Horsell Common (of H.G.Wells "World of the Worlds" fame). Its main draw is for dog walkers and its small, but very busy, cafe. In fact this year the cafe has expanded its outside seating area and car park facilities, which depending on your viewpoint is a good or bad thing.  I was happy as I got my afternoon treat of an ice cream!

The wetlands themselves were looking rather dry and as the meadows had just been harvested for silage were rather empty of life.  Never the less, I had a good walk enjoying the peace in the wider landscape and still managed to find plenty of meadow brown butterflies, and even a common green shieldbug.

All in all, a good trip out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.