Mainly moving

By Snowbell

Ouch!

I can't edit yesterday's post so I'll have to write all about my race here.
I got up at 4.15, tried to eat breakfast, dressed and walked the dog. it was already HOT! I met L on the corner at 5.00 and we walked to the start line. On the way we met LH. There were quite a lot of people around. Not only runners but also quite a few youngsters on the way back from a long night of parting... All too soon the race started.. And it was fine the first 16-17 km but last 4-5 were really hard. Up until 8.00 I didn't really feel it was too hot but the last 30 minutes were also hard in terms of temperatures. I drank at every station (there was one every 3 km) so i wasn't thirsty. I was happy to have my gels!!!

I walked about quite a lot of the last 3 km - it was partly an incline and it was getting busy and also my toe was painful (toenail issue it turned out, quite common with long distance runners). But I did it!!!

My sis and H came to meet me, they brought me chocolate milk, strawberries and sandwich nad it was the first time i wasn't ravenous after a run. I walked for about 15 minutes but then I had to sit. It was hot!!

We walked back to my place - they went to some shopping and we agreed to meet a bit later for breakfast. I took a long shower (cold water on my legs - it really helped because today I have no muscle pain) then met them for a bit to eat. I still wasn't really hungry but i had half a sandwich. Later still I met the regular bunch at the regular place. I ordered some pasta but halfway through the dish I was too tired to chew!!! I went to sleep at 22:00 and slept for a solid 10 hours!!!
Today my legs are mostly fine - no muscular pain but my toe is painful and it looks like i'll be wearing flip-flops for the foreseeable future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.