Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Museum Of The Moon

I walked all the way around the harbour this afternoon, ending up at the Cathedral halfway through the walk. I had intended on a peaceful visit to the gardens there (where tea and cake is served), but I had forgotten that the ‘Museum of the Moon’ is installed at the cathedral for a few weeks so it was a very busy place! I didn’t mind too much as I had wanted to see it at some point, so today ended up being the day!

From the artist’s website:

Museum of the Moon is a touring artwork by Luke Jerram that is being presented at a number of different arts, science and cultural venues over the coming years. The installation is a fusion of lunar imagery, moonlight and surround sound composition

I was initially going to crop out the people in the picture but I decided they provided a helpful scale. The sculpture was created by local Bristol artist, Luke Jerram. One of the info boards said this:

Measuring 7 meters in diameter, Museum of the Moon features detailed NASA imagery of the lunar surface. At an approximate scale of 1:500,000, each centimetre of the internally lit spherical sculpture represents 5km of the moon’s surface.

There are all sorts of other activities going on, including music and activities for children and families.

I did end up in the gardens with a cup of tea but it wasn’t quite tranquil! Hopefully I will return another day when it’s not quite so busy.

I continued my walk and ended up having an early small dinner at Wapping Wharf, enjoying a sudden appearance of the sun conveniently shining right on my table.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.