Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A day of mixed weather

I woke up at 3am in the morning and slept quite badly after that. So I got up at about 6.15am to see the sunrise, but when I looked outside there was a wall of white - a dense fog with no visibility at all! I took this image on the golf course when I took Xena out in the morning, the fog was lifting and you can see the blue sky starting to appear. The first extra shows the low cloud over the village, it looks like a dense blanket smothering the village.

I had a few admin things to attend to this morning. I found out to my surprise that although my ARPS assessment is at the beginning of October, they need the prints at least 3 weeks before that. As I am also going way in September on a photography workshop for a few days in Cornwall, I realised I have very little time left to finalise my prints. So a flurry of emails this morning, arranging a second and final one to one with the RPS advisor, and then ordering the mountboards so I can get the mounts cut in time. I also had to finalise things for the Cornwall trip as Gavin and Xena are also coming! (well not on the photography workshop but we are extending our stay by a few days to enjoy the area)

By now the cloud had lifted and we went for a walk with Xena, and it got rather sunny. Luke and Meriel cycled up to Alp Sardasca and climbed up the glacier, the same hike that Tommy and Inca did last week, although this time it was colder and more cloudy, but they loved it - and were sad to see how the glacier has shrunk. 

Tommy and Inca went for their Covid lateral flow pre flight tests early this morning, and then Tommy worked a half day on his internship (as he also worked yesterday) so they could go off and enjoy their last afternoon here. Inca was feeling better but not completely 100%. They sadly leave tomorrow morning.

Adam and Pip arrived this afternoon, and so we finally have all three boys together and all three girlfriends here too - a first for us to have everyone together, at last! We are celebrating by going out to supper tonight and there will definitely be some photos taken. Adam has had his lovely hair cut so short, I was quite shocked when I first saw it - some choice words were exclaimed in the shock of seeing it, but as he said, the new look does grow on you - and the hair thankfully does grow too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.